Posts Tagged ‘ALA’

Today the American Library Association announced the winners for a variety of book awards.  We’ve devoted a good deal of this blog in the past year to talking about new books and which ones we think will win awards.  Without further ado here is the list of winning books and honor books:

Randolph Caldecott Medal WinnerThis is Not My Hat written and illustrated by Jon KlassenThis is not my hat
space Honor Books: Extra Yarn written by Mac Barnett and illustrated by Jon Klassen, Green written and illustrated by Laura Vaccaro Seeger, Creepy Carrots written by Aaron Reynolds and illustrated by Peter Brown, and One Cool Friend written by Toni Buzzeo and illustrated by David Small

John Newbery Medal Winner –  The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
space Honor Books: Splendors and Glooms written by Laura Amy Schlitz, Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon by Steve Sheinkin, Three Times Lucky by Sheila Turnage One and only ivan

Coretta Scott King Author Award WinnerHand in Hand: Ten Black Men Who Changed America written by Andrea Davis Pinkney and illustrated by Brian Pinkney
space Honor Books: Each Kindness written by Jacqueline Woodson and illustrated by E. B. Lewis, No Crystal Stair: A Documentary Novel of the Life and Work of Lewis Michaux, Harlem Bookseller written by Vaunda Micheaux Nelson and illustrated by R. Gregory Christie

Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award Winner –  I, Too, Am America written by Langston Hughes and illustrated by Bryan CollierI, Too, Am America, illustrated by Bryan Collier
blank Honor Books: H. O. R. S. E. illustrated and written by Christopher Myers, Ellen’s Broom written by Kelly Starling Lyons and illustrated by Daniel Minter, and I Have a Dream: Martin Luther King, Jr. written by Martin Luther King, Jr. and illustrated by Kadir Nelson

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award Winner – Up, Tall and High written and illustrated by Ethan Long
space Honor Books: Let’s Go for a Drive! written and illustrated by Mo Willems, Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons written by Eric Litwin and illustrated by James Dean, and Rabbit & Robot: The Sleepover written and illustrated by Cece Bell

Robert F. Sibert Informational Book AwardBomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon written by Steve Sheinkin
space Honor Books: Electric Ben: The Amazing Life and Times of Benjamin Franklin written and illustrated by Robert Byrd, Moonbird: A Year on the Wind with the Great Survivor B95 written by Phillip M. Hoose, and Titanic: Voices from the Disaster written by Deborah Hopkinson

You can find more book award winners if you click here.

Read Full Post »

%d bloggers like this: